Finance Watch Governance & Funding

Governance & Funding


(Go to Funding)

Finance Watch is committed to transparency, independence and good governance.

The governance structure – described in detail in our Articles of Association has been designed with these values in mind and allows for a clear separation of responsibilities.

General Assembly

The General Assembly is Finance Watch’s highest governance body. Both types of Member (Member Organisations and Individual Members) are entitled to attend and vote via separate voting colleges. The General Assembly meets at least once a year to debate and approve Finance Watch’s key action priorities, to approve the budget and accounts and elect the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors

The Board comprises eight Directors including six elected by and from the General Assembly (four Member organisations and two individual Members) and two independent Directors (“external personalities”), who are selected by the Board, and voted by the General Assembly. Board directors, who are not paid, may serve for two consecutive mandates of three years and may stand for election / appointment again after a two year absence following the end of their second mandate.

The members of the Board of Directors are:

Secretary General

The Board of Directors appoints the Secretary General. The Secretary General reports to the Board and can be dismissed by them on a two thirds majority. The Secretary General has day-to-day responsibility for the staff, strategy, operations and output of Finance Watch.

Benoît Lallemand was appointed in January 2017 as Secretary General.